top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSierra Barnes

Going With The Flow + Tips On Creating More Freely

I’ve always considered my art to be intuitive from the supplies I use to the subject of the piece. With everything going on lately with quarantine it’s really given me time to hone in on my creativity and dig a little deeper. Before all of this started I was planning on releasing a small spring collection of paintings. Instead, I am taking this time to create freely without the pressure of releasing a collection or having everything mapped out a certain way. Now I’ve decided to just release these pieces as they are ready.


I feel there are so many rules and ideas placed in our heads as artists and creatives that we have to always create in a series, paint the same kind of art, or use the same mediums and the list goes on.


Lately, I’ve been able to really listen, let my creativity flow, make different marks, and use different techniques and colors. Sometimes I get so much in my head that I forget to enjoy the process of creating art. It has been quite liberating to just let go and create. I am really excited about these new pieces I will be sharing soon.


Below are a few tips on how you can create more intuitively and freely. Whether you are an artist or just someone wanting to be creative.

I hope these tips will inspire you to let go and create more freely!



1. GET OUT OF YOUR HEAD!: Get out of your head and stop thinking about what if I mess up or what will people think of my art. I've really learned lately that if I make a mark or choose a color and decide I don't like it. I can cover it up and try something else. And as for what people think. I've really been creating for me and not worrying about what others think. I know those that are meant to enjoy and connect with my art will and those that aren't won't.


2. MAKE DECISIONS: There are really no consequences for choosing colors or making marks on paper or canvas. Just go with what you feel and express yourself. Let your creativity flow and your heart sing.


3. HAVE FUN: Just have fun and enjoy the process. I definitely have rediscovered the joy and the having fun part of making art and being creative. When you are so much in your head you lose that.


4. SET UP: Whether you have a little or a lot of space it doesn't matter. But I know for me when I set things up and add little touches to my studio such as crystals, flowers, incense, or essential oils it really helps the energy and environment for me to be creative just a tad bit more.






Sending you all lots of love and positive energy,

Sierra Barnes






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page